Game Report – Sept 24/11

Game Reports – September 24, 2011

A sweep in the Hub City for the Piggies:

Women’s 1st Div. Cowichan 34 vs Nanaimo 18

Men’s 1st Div. Cowichan 24 vs Nanaimo 17

Cowichan Rugby Player makes 1st Start in New Zealand at World Cup.

Matt Evans of Cowichan will start on the Wing vs Japan in a crucial IRB World Cup match Tuesday (NZ Time) The game will be shown live on TSN this Monday at 9pm.

Below is the Rugby News Release from New Zealand.

Canada’s side to face Japan will feature to changes to the 22 that faced France a week ago.

Head coach Kieran Crowley has brought Matt Evans into the starting lineup, in place of Ciaran Hearn on the wing, and New Zealand-born Jeremy Kyne onto the bench, in place of loose forward Nanyak Dala.

The changes mark the first time Crowley has tampered with the side since the World Cup began.

“Matt was the starting fullback against U.S.A. in Toronto in August when he received an injury,” Crowley said. “He was just about fit for the first two games of the World Cup but for this game we looked at what he could bring to the field in terms of an x factor.

“Nanyak has been pretty damn good from the bench, but we just feel Jeremy brings a different style. He’s more of a ball carrier, which could be needed toward the end of the game. The good things is there’s a real battle for positions.”

Crowley and his team know facing Japan will be no easy task, but they too are hoping to improve their Rugby World Cup record.

“Japan have beaten us in the last two games,” Crowley said. “They’re Pacific Nations Cup champions and it’s their last game at the World Cup, they’ve got nothing to lose.

“It’s massive for us. We need to get back on track. We’ve got to keep the ball and combat the way Japan play.”

In a milestone of an achievement, Ryan Smith has been renamed to the starting side to receive his 50th cap in the Canada colours.

“To be with this group is what makes it so special to me,” Smith said. “It’s always nice to reach milestones, but you want to share it with the people you love, your family and your teammates.

“This is the best group of guys, on and off the field, I’ve played with and that makes it very special.”

After performing well against Tonga and remaining competitive against a powerful French pack, loosehead Hubert Buydens, captain Pat Riordan and tighthead Jason Marshall return to the front row.

Jebb Sinclair and Jamie Cudmore continue their successful second-row combination, surrounded by the competent loose forward trio of Adam Kleeberger at blindside, Chauncey O’Toole at openside and Aaron Carpenter at Number 8.

In another milestone for the team, scrumhalf Ed Fairhurst will become Canada’s equal 10th most capped player of all time, equaling John Graf’s record of 54 capped appearances.

Fairhurst will link with flyhalf Ander Monro who returns after a strong performance against France in which he landed two drop goals, including one which seemed almost impossible given his proximity to the defensive line.

Smith and DTH van der Merwe continue their strong pairing in the centres, with Phil Mackenzie at blindside wing and Evans set to make his Rugby World Cup debut at openside wing.

Meanwhile, James Pritchard sits two points shy of 400, returning as Canada’s fullback.

Crowley continues with a 4:3 split in the reserves, with Ryan Hamilton, Scott Franklin and Tyler Hotson retaining their jerseys. Kyne is the only new addition to the reserves bench and stands to earn his second-ever cap for Canada. Sean White returns as back up to Fairhurst, joined by Nathan Hirayama as reserve flyhalf and Conor Trainor as reserve centre.

Canada and Japan square off at McLean Park in Napier on Tuesday, Sept. 27, at 5 p.m. (NZST)

Messages of support for the team can be sent to Also check out the team’s Facebook page at, or on Twitter at Videos of the team’s journey at the Rugby World Cup can be found at

Canadian side to face Japan
1. Hubert Buydens  (Saskatoon, SK, Prairie Wolf Pack/CRC, Saskatoon Wild Oats, Walter Murray/University of Saskatchewan)
2. Pat Riordan (captain) (Surrey, BC, BC Bears/CRC, Burnaby Lake, Tamanawis Secondary/University of Victoria)
3. Jason Marshall (North Vancouver, BC, BC Bears/CRC, Capilano, Carson Graham Secondary/Simon Fraser University)
4. Jebb Sinclair (Fredericton, NB, London Irish/PRO, Fredericton Loyalists, Fredericton High School)
5. Jamie Cudmore (Squamish, BC, ASM Clermont Auvergne/PRO, Howe Sound Secondary)
6. Adam Kleeberger (White Rock, BC, BC Bears/CRC, University of Victoria Vikes, Semiahmoo Secondary School/University of Victoria)
7. Chauncey O’Toole (Belleisle, NB, Ospreys/PRO, Belleisle Rovers, Belleisle Regional High School)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Brantford, ON, Plymouth Albion/PRO, Brantford Harlequins, Brantford Collegiate Institute/McMaster University)
9. Ed Fairhurst (Vancouver, BC, UBC Old Boys Ravens, St. Michael’s University School/University of Victoria)
10. Ander Monro (vice captain) (Victoria, BC, Ontario Blues/CRC, Castaway Wanderers, Glenalmond College/Edinburgh University)
11. Phil Mackenzie (Oakville, ON, Esher/PRO, Oakville Crusaders, Appleby College/University of Victoria)
12. Ryan Smith (Calgary, AB, Prairie Wolf Pack/CRC, Calgary Irish, Mayfield Secondary/University of Guelph)
13. DTH van der Merwe (Victoria, BC, Glasgow Warriors/PRO, James Bay, Dr. Martin LeBoldus)
14. Matt Evans (Duncan, BC, Unattached, Cowichan RFC, Shawnigan Lake School/Hartpury College)
15. James Pritchard (Parkes, Australia, Bedford Blues/PRO, Randwick, Red Bend Catholic College)

Comments are closed.